Skip to main content

什么是免疫检查点蛋白?

在调节不同类型免疫细胞的活性方面,免疫检查点蛋白发挥着核心作用。这些分子要么具有刺激功能,可促进免疫细胞激活,以保护宿主免受病原体入侵及出现恶性肿瘤;要么具有抑制功能,可抑制免疫细胞激活,以抑制炎症、维持免疫稳态和防止组织损伤。肿瘤细胞经常利用免疫检查点通路,通过上调配体的表达,激活不同类型免疫细胞上的抑制受体,从而使得肿瘤细胞不会被宿主免疫系统破坏。因此,研究人员将重点放在了以免疫检查点分子为靶标的癌症免疫治疗上,使用免疫细胞刺激受体的激动剂来促进免疫细胞激活,或使用抑制受体的拮抗剂来促进免疫检查点阻断。虽然通过靶向 T 细胞共抑制受体 CTLA-4 和 PD-1 的治疗取得了显著的成功,但临床医生也发现,针对 CTLA-4、PD-1 或 PD-1 配体 PD-L1 的单克隆抗体仅对少数癌症患者有效,还有一些患者,他们最初对这些抗体的治疗有应答,但由于其他免疫检查点通路的上调,后续可能会产生耐药性或者复发。因此,人们正在寻找其他免疫检查点调节因子,以期将它们单独或联合作为免疫治疗靶点。

免疫检查点蛋白靶标

B7-1 binds to CD28 or CTLA-4 to deliver a co-stimulatory or co-inhibitory signal that regulates T cell activitation.

B7-CD28 家族

免疫检查点蛋白 B7 家族成员与 CD28 家族受体结合,在 T 细胞受体 (TCR) 识别抗原肽/MHC 后促进或抑制 T 细胞激活。B7 和 CD28 家族包括免疫检查点蛋白 PD-L1、PD-1 和 CTLA-4,它们是癌症免疫治疗中研究最多的靶标。

Butyrophilin family proteins can function as co-stimulatory and co-inhibitory molecules to regulate T cell activation.

嗜乳脂蛋白

嗜乳脂蛋白是 T 细胞共抑制/共刺激分子,在结构上与 B7 家族免疫检查点蛋白具有相关性,似乎具有相似的免疫调节功能。正因如此,人们现在正将它们作为潜在的下一代免疫检查点靶标进行研究。

The CD47-SIRP pathway is an innate immune checkpoint pathway that suppresses the phagocytic activity of myeloid cells.

CD47-SIRP 通路

SIRP/CD47 通路是一种天然免疫检查点,可抑制髓系细胞的吞噬活性。CD47 在各种血液肿瘤和实体瘤癌症中过表达,表明肿瘤细胞可利用此通路逃避吞噬细胞的破坏。

Overexpression of IDO or TDO by tumor cells leads to the production of kynurenine, an immunosuppressive metabolite.

犬尿氨酸通路

通过犬尿氨酸通路减少色氨酸和犬尿氨酸的生成,可抑制 T 细胞和自然杀伤细胞的功能,促进调节性 T 细胞的产生。由于肿瘤细胞或肿瘤微环境中的细胞可大量表达 IDO 和 TDO2,这是两种可催化该通路中的初始和限速步骤的关键酶,因此,人们正在研究将这些分子的抑制剂作为免疫治疗药物的可能性。

LAG-3 is an immune checkpoint receptor that inhibits T cell activity and enhances the functions of regulatory T cells.

LAG-3

LAG-3 是一种抑制性免疫检查点受体,可负向调节 T 细胞活性并促进调节性 T 细胞的抑制活性。该受体在癌症中耗竭的 T 细胞和自然杀伤细胞上表达上调,这被认为是导致这些细胞功能障碍的原因,因此,免疫肿瘤学研究人员将该受体作为他们的一个研究目标。

Binding of LILRB1 to HLA-G expressed on tumor cells inhibits the functions of T cells and natural killer cells.

LLRB 受体家族

LILRB 亚家族成员是免疫检查点受体,激活后可抑制多种类型免疫细胞的功能。免疫肿瘤学研究人员正在研究这些受体及其配体,因为在肿瘤微环境中的肿瘤细胞或免疫细胞上,它们的表达上调,可使得肿瘤可逃避免疫检测。

TIGIT and DNAM-1 both bind to CD155 and CD112, but have opposing effects on the functions of T cells and NK cells.

TIGIT、DNAM-1、CD96 和 PVRIG

TIGIT、DNAM-1、CD96 和 PVRIG 是免疫检查点受体,它们竞争结合 CD155/PVR 和/或 CD112/Nectin-2 配体,可抑制淋巴细胞的功能。DNAM-1/CD226 为共刺激受体,TIGIT、PVRIG 和 CD96 为 T 细胞和自然杀伤细胞上的共抑制受体。因此,研究人员正在对这些蛋白质展开研究,期望能将它们作为癌症免疫治疗的靶标。

TIM-3 binds to CEACAM-1 and Galectin-9 and suppresses immune cell functions through a variety of different mechanisms.

TIM-3

TIM-3 在 CD8+ T 细胞和自然杀伤细胞上的高水平表达与耗竭表型相关,其在肿瘤相关的 FoxP3+ 调节性 T 细胞 (Treg) 上的表达,标志着 Treg 的一个子集具有增强的抑制功能和恢复能力。考虑到这些特征,免疫肿瘤学研究人员正在研究 TIM-3 阻断,以确定它们能否改善抗肿瘤免疫应答。

Agonists of co-stimulatory TNF receptor family members are being investigated for as potential immuno-oncology targets.

TNF 受体超家族共刺激分子

作为通过免疫检查点阻断恢复抗肿瘤免疫应答的替代方法,共刺激免疫检查点受体的激动剂也正处于探索之中。其中许多受体是 TNF 受体超家族成员,并已被证明参与了增强 T 细胞和/或自然杀伤细胞的增殖和效应子功能。

免疫检查点研究的相关产品和资源

Maurice: Automated cIEF and CE-SDS by ProteinSimple, a Bio-Techne brand

用于评估蛋白质纯度的 Maurice™ CE-SDS

虽然在工业上,SDS-PAGE 仍被用于进行蛋白质纯度分析,但其在灵敏度、重现性和半定量性质方面具有自限性。作为替代方案,我们提供了全自动 Maurice 毛细管电泳 (CE)-SDS 系统。本应用说明概述了相较于标准 SDS-PAGE 分析,Maurice 在蛋白质纯度测定方面的优势。

Learn about the mechanisms by which tumor cells, tumor-derived exosomes, Tregs, MDSCs, and TAMs mediate immunosuppression.

肿瘤机制详图

肿瘤微环境 (TME) 在抑制抗肿瘤免疫应答中起核心作用。使用我们全新的海报,了解肿瘤细胞、肿瘤源性外泌体、调节性 T 细胞、髓源性抑制细胞 (MDSC) 和肿瘤相关巨噬细胞 (TAM) 在 TME 中介导免疫抑制的关键机制。

Simultaneous detection of immune cell markers and immune checkpoint targets using an RNAscope-immunofluorescence workflow.

RNAscope™ In Situ Hybridization Assay

RNAscope 技术能够快速高效地检测任何靶标 mRNA 的共表达谱,包括免疫检查点靶标和免疫细胞标志物,在福尔马林固定石蜡包埋 (FFPE) 组织中具有单分子灵敏度和高特异性。该技术可与免疫组织化学或免疫荧光技术结合,在同一玻片上同时检测靶标 RNA 和蛋白质。

Avi-tag Biotinylated Recombinant Proteins banner

适用于免疫检查点靶标的 Avi-tag 生物素化蛋白

生物素化蛋白是评估蛋白质相互作用或为潜在治疗药物筛选抗体或小分子库的有力工具。我们现提供各种适用于免疫检查点靶标的 Avi-tag 生物素化重组蛋白。

Wes and Milo Appnote Thumbnail

使用 Wes™ 和 Milo™ 分析 TME 中的免疫细胞群

分析肿瘤微环境 (TME) 中的免疫细胞组成和功能,可以改善机体对免疫治疗的应答,并发现新的治疗靶标。本应用说明概述了如何将 Wes 上的 Simple Western™ 测定与 Milo 上的 Single-Cell Westerns™ 配合使用,以分析您样本中的免疫细胞群。

Antibody Cell Surface Marker

用于鉴定免疫细胞类型的经流式细胞术验证的抗体

Bio-Techne 旗下品牌 R&D Systems 和 Novus Biologicals 致力于提供质量出众的抗体,以支持您的研究。使用我们品类繁多的经流式细胞术验证的抗体来分析免疫检查点蛋白或其配体的表达。

Skip to main content

Immune Checkpoint Protein Targets

B7-1 binds to CD28 or CTLA-4 to deliver a co-stimulatory or co-inhibitory signal that regulates T cell activitation.

B7-CD28 Families

Members of the B7 family of immune checkpoint proteins bind to receptors belonging to the CD28 family and promote or inhibit T cell activation following antigenic peptide/MHC recognition by the TCR. The B7 and CD28 families include the immune checkpoint proteins, PD-L1, PD-1, and CTLA-4, which are some of the most highly investigated targets for cancer immunotherapy.

Butyrophilin family proteins can function as co-stimulatory and co-inhibitory molecules to regulate T cell activation.

Butyrophilins

Butyrophilins are T cell co-inhibitory/co-stimulatory molecules that are structurally related to the B7 family of immune checkpoint proteins and appear to have similar immunomodulatory functions. For these reasons, they are currently being investigated as potential next generation immune checkpoint targets.

The CD47-SIRP pathway is an innate immune checkpoint pathway that suppresses the phagocytic activity of myeloid cells.

CD47-SIRP Pathway

The SIRP/CD47 pathway is an innate immune checkpoint that suppresses the phagocytic activity of myeloid cells. CD47 is overexpressed in a variety of hematologic and solid tumor cancers, indicating that tumor cells may exploit this pathway to evade phagocytic destruction.

Overexpression of IDO or TDO by tumor cells leads to the production of kynurenine, an immunosuppressive metabolite.

Kynurenine Pathway

Depletion of tryptophan and kynurenine production by the kynurenine pathway can inhibit the functions of T cells and natural killer cells and promote the generation of regulatory T cells. As tumor cells or cells in the tumor microenvironment can express high levels of IDO and TDO2, two key enzymes that catalyze the initial and rate-limiting step in this pathway, inhibitors of these molecules are being investigated as potential immunotherapeutic drugs.

LAG-3 is an immune checkpoint receptor that inhibits T cell activity and enhances the functions of regulatory T cells.

LAG-3

LAG-3 is an inhibitory immune checkpoint receptor that negatively regulates T cell activity and promotes the suppressive activity of regulatory T cells. This receptor is up-regulated on exhausted T cells and natural killer cells in cancer and is thought to contribute to their dysfunction, making it a target for immuno-oncology researchers.

Binding of LILRB1 to HLA-G expressed on tumor cells inhibits the functions of T cells and natural killer cells.

LILRB Receptor Family

Members of the LILRB subfamily are immune checkpoint receptors that can inhibit the functions of multiple immune cell types following activation. These receptors and their ligands are being investigated by immuno-oncology researchers as they can be up-regulated on tumor cells or immune cells present in the tumor microenvironment, allowing tumors to evade immune detection.

TIGIT and DNAM-1 both bind to CD155 and CD112, but have opposing effects on the functions of T cells and NK cells.

TIGIT, DNAM-1, CD96, and PVRIG

TIGIT, DNAM-1, CD96, and PVRIG are immune checkpoint receptors that share CD155/PVR and/or CD112/Nectin-2 as ligands, but mediate opposing effects on lymphocyte functions. While DNAM-1/CD226 acts as a co-stimulatory receptor, TIGIT, PVRIG, and CD96 function as co-inhibitory receptors on T cells and natural killer cells. As a result, these proteins are being explored as targets for cancer immunotherapy.

TIM-3 binds to CEACAM-1 and Galectin-9 and suppresses immune cell functions through a variety of different mechanisms.

TIM-3

High level expression of TIM-3 on CD8+ T cells and natural killer cells is associated with an exhausted phenotype, and its expression on tumor-associated FoxP3+ regulatory T cells (Tregs) marks a subset of Tregs with enhanced suppressor functions and increased resiliency. Due to these characteristics, immuno-oncology researchers are investigating TIM-3 blockade to determine if they can improve anti-tumor immune responses.

Agonists of co-stimulatory TNF receptor family members are being investigated for as potential immuno-oncology targets.

TNF Receptor Superfamily Co-Stimulatory Molecules

As an alternative to immune checkpoint blockade to restore anti-tumor immune responses, agonists of co-stimulatory immune checkpoint receptors are also being explored. Many of these receptors belong to the TNF receptor superfamily and have been shown to be involved in enhancing the proliferation and effector functions of T cells and/or natural killer cells.

Related Products and Resources for Immune Checkpoint Research

Maurice: Automated cIEF and CE-SDS by ProteinSimple, a Bio-Techne brand

Maurice™ CE-SDS for Evaluating Protein Purity

Although still used in the industry for protein purity analysis, SDS-PAGE is self-limiting in terms of sensitivity, reproducibility, and its semi-quantitative nature. As an alternative, we offer the fully automated Maurice capillary electrophoresis (CE)-SDS system.This application note outlines the advantages of using Maurice over standard SDS-PAGE analysis for protein purity characterization. Read more on our Protein Simple website.

 

poster A Look Inside A Tumor 525x315

A Look Inside a Tumor Poster

The tumor microenvironment (TME) plays a central role in inhibiting anti-tumor immune responses. Use our new poster to learn about the key mechanisms by which tumor cells, tumor-derived exosomes, regulatory T cells, myeloid-derived suppressor cells (MDSCs), and tumor-associated macrophages (TAMs) mediate immunosuppression in the TME.

Simultaneous detection of immune cell markers and immune checkpoint targets using an RNAscope-immunofluorescence workflow.

RNAscope™ In Situ Hybridization Assays

RNAscope technology enables the rapid and efficient detection of the co-expression profiles of any target mRNAs, including immune checkpoint targets and immune cell markers, with single-molecule sensitivity and high specificity in formalin-fixed, paraffin-embedded (FFPE) tissues. This technology can be combined with immunohistochemistry or immunofluorescence on the same slide for detecting target RNAs and proteins simultaneously.

Avi-tag Biotinylated Recombinant Proteins banner

Avi-tag Biotinylated Proteins for Immune Checkpoint Targets

Biotinylated proteins can be powerful tools for assessing protein-protein interactions or screening antibody or small molecule libraries for potential therapeutics. We now offer a wide assortment of Avi-tag biotinylated recombinant proteins for immune checkpoint targets.

Wes Milo App Note Thumb

Use Wes™ and Milo™ to Profile Immune Cell Populations in the TME

Profiling the composition and function of immune cells in the tumor microenvironment (TME) may guide an improved response to immunotherapy and uncover novel therapeutic targets. This application note outlines how Simple Western™ assays on Wes can be used with Single-cell Westerns™ on Milo to profile the immune cell populations in your sample. Read more on our Protein Simple website.

Antibody Cell Surface Marker

Flow Cytometry-Validated Antibodies for Identifying Immune Cell Types

The Bio-Techne family brands, R&D Systems and Novus Biologicals, are committed to providing the highest quality antibodies to support your research. Analyze the expression of immune checkpoint proteins or their ligands using our wide selection of flow cytometry-validated antibodies.