Skip to main content

免疫分析选择指南

从一系列选项中选择正确的免疫分析

Immunoassays

无论是分析对 SARS-CoV-2 的免疫应答,还是搜索预测性生物标志物用于药物开发,我们均提供不同类型的免疫分析,助力您测定多种不同的生物标志物。虽然各种类型的免疫分析获得的结果可能类似,但检测背后的方法和组成可能完全不同。

当有一系列选项可选时,就会面临一个明显的问题:如何选出最符合您的速度、效率和准确度要求的免疫分析类型? 平台格式通常由目标来源、分析复杂性(单个或多个靶点)和所需的灵敏度决定。

ELISA Kits

1. 单一分析物分析——选择性和准确度高

单一分析物 ELISA 在许多情况下都是首选的免疫分析,因为它们具有卓越的准确度、灵敏度、特异性,能够承受高强度的预处理或缓冲液。单一分析物 ELISA 的一个优点是能够为目标分析物定制分析,而不必担心共同使用大量其他抗体和蛋白质带来的干扰。

虽然 ELISA 一直是细胞因子和其他生物标志物定量分析的标准,但通常不适合高通量多蛋白分析。这就是多重免疫分析可以提供巨大价值的地方。

Luminex Multiplex Immunoassays

2. 多重分析——高效、多分析物检测

不断增长的免疫分析需求和急剧增多的检测量给科研人员带来了压力,既要控制成本,还要优化样本的使用,这就需要设计多重分析来同时覆盖多种分析物。在一个免疫分析工作流程中同时运行相当于 20 种或更多种不同的分析,多重分析节省的时间和带来的益处显而易见。

除此之外,还有其他优点。在一次分析中评估多种分析物,这让科研人员能够审慎使用宝贵的样本材料,同时无需根据可用的样本量来安排分析的优先顺序,这些样本还可以用于未来研究。

多重分析让您可以: 

  • 充分利用有限的样本——仅需 25 μl 或更少未稀释的样本,即可采集数据。
  • 减少实验变异性——从单次操作中获取数据点。
  • 优化生产力 — 减少样本制备和处理。
  • 节省时间和资源 — 同时覆盖多个分析物。
Proteome Profiler™ Antibody Array

3. 抗体膜芯片——快速且经济的分析物分析

市场需要以快速、经济的方式在一次分析中实现对多种分析物的分析,这种需求正在推动多重分析能力的创新。抗体芯片就是一个很好的例子。

这些分析使用简单的双抗体夹心法,将特异性捕获抗体点样在硝酸纤维素膜上,重复点样两次。如果您的实验室可以进行蛋白质印迹实验,则您已经具备了所需的所有设备。

每个芯片可定性分析一份样本中最多 119 种蛋白质,快速且经济。使用生物素化抗体混合物检测捕获的分析物,并使用适当的检测系统显示阳性斑点。

主要益处包括:

  • 快速样本筛选
  • 简单易用 
  • 每个芯片覆盖大量靶点 
  • 不需要专用设备 
  • 检测底物的选择
Ella Automated Immunoassay System

4. 微流体 ELISA 卡盒芯片——自动化分析方法,重现性卓越

从临床研究到药物开发,人们对加快多重分析工作流程的需求日益增加,同时希望消除交叉反应性和干扰。这正是基于微流体的免疫分析平台发挥关键作用的地方。

这些全自动分析具有与单一分析物 ELISA 相同的特异性,但灵敏度更高,动态范围更广。设置分析只需将稀释的样本装入卡盒即可。加载后,仪器会自动执行免疫分析的每个步骤,从清洗步骤到最终定量结果,只需 90 分钟。

无论您是从多重分析开始还是从单一分析物开始,如今的研究人员都有广泛灵活的选择。对于新目标,您也可以让外部专家构建定制的多重分析组合,以满足您的特定研究需求。

Bio-Techne offers conjugated primary antibodies that allow you to detect analytes without using secondary antibodies.

5. 抗体——影响分析性能的关键因素

抗体的独特结合特性是决定具体免疫分析性能的核心因素。为了获得最佳性能,需要筛选抗体对,这是一个非常耗时的过程,需要访问抗体库,做大量的研究,以确认所考虑的抗体能够产生一致的结果。

明智的做法是在最初确保从信誉良好的供应商处选择已被证明适合研究应用和样本类型的抗体。验证方案可以帮助确保抗体产生适当的结果。

虽然抗体验证没有普遍适用的方法,但有一些最佳实践措施可以帮助改善您的结果。

  • 始终遵循生产商的建议。
  • 使用相关模型系统测试抗体。
  • 对目标和试剂均使用适当的质控品。
  • 将您的结果与其他类似抗体的结果(如有)进行比较。
  • 如果出现任何问题,请联系供应商并分享您的数据。

紧跟科学发展的步伐

随着临床和生物制药研究需求不断增长,免疫分析性能也不断提高。得益于仪器、自动化和试剂质量的改进,当今的分析仪通量更高、具备多模式检测、卓越的灵敏度,且更易使用。这些改进表明 ELISA 技术还有巨大的发展机会。 如需了解有关免疫分析的更多信息,请查看以下链接:

Skip to main content

Immunoassay Selection Guide

Choosing the Right Immunoassay from a Range of Options

Immunoassays

Whether analyzing the immune response to SARS-CoV-2 or searching for predictive biomarkers for drug development, different types of immunoassays are available for measuring a multitude of different biomarkers. While you may achieve similar outcomes across various types of immunoassays, the methods and components behind the test may differ entirely.

With the range of options available, an obvious question arises: How do you select the type of immunoassay that will best meet your speed, efficiency, and accuracy requirements? The platform format is often determined by the target source, the assay complexity (single target or multiple targets), and the required sensitivity.

ELISA Kits

1. Single analyte assays—Superior selectivity and accuracy

Single-analyte ELISAs are the immunoassay of choice in many instances due to their superior accuracy, sensitivity, specificity, and ability to withstand harsh pretreatments or buffers. One advantage of single-analyte ELISAs is the ability to customize the assay for the target analyte and not having to worry about interference caused by an abundance of other antibodies and proteins working together.

While ELISAs have long been the standard for quantitative analysis of cytokines and other biomarkers, they generally are not well-suited for high-throughput multi-protein analysis. That is where multiplex immunoassays can deliver substantial value.

Luminex Multiplex Immunoassays

2. Multiplex assays—Highly efficient, multi-analyte detection

Growing demand for immunoassays and spiraling testing volumes has put pressure on scientists to rein in costs and optimize sample usage by designing multiplex assays to cover several analytes simultaneously. Factor in the time saved by running the equivalent of 20 or more different assays in a single immunoassay workflow, and the benefits of multiplexing are obvious.

There are other advantages as well. Assessing multiple analytes in a single assay allows scientists to be judicious with precious sample materials while alleviating the need to prioritize assays based on the sample volume available, allowing for future studies using those same samples.

Multiplex assays allows you to:

  • Optimize limited sample volumes—collect data from just 25μl or less of undiluted sample.
  • Minimize experimental variability—derive data points from a single manipulation.
  • Optimize productivity—minimize sample preparation and processing.
  • Save time and resources—Cover several analytes simultaneously.
Proteome Profiler™ Antibody Array

3. Antibody membrane arrays—Fast, cost-efficient analyte profiling

The demand for fast, inexpensive analysis of multiple analytes in a single assay is helping to drive new innovations in multiplex assay capabilities. Antibody arrays are a good example.

With these assays, specific capture antibodies are spotted in duplicate onto nitrocellulose membranes and a simple antibody sandwich assay principle is utilized. If your lab is set up for Western blotting, then you already have all the equipment you need.

Each array offers a quick and inexpensive qualitative analysis of up to 119 proteins in a single sample. Captured analyte is detected using a cocktail of biotinylated antibodies and positive spots are visualized using an appropriate detection system.

Key benefits include:

  • Rapid sample screening
  • Simple, easy to use 
  • Large number of targets per array 
  • No specialized equipment required 
  • Choice of detection substrates
Ella Automated Immunoassay System

4. Microfluidic ELISA cartridge arrays—Superior reproducibility with an automated approach

From clinical research to drug development, there is a growing need to accelerate multiplexing workflows while eliminating the potential for cross-reactivity and interference. That’s where microfluidics-based immunoassay platforms are playing a vital role.

These fully automated assays deliver the same specificity as single-analyte ELISAs, but with greater sensitivity and a broader dynamic range. Setting up an assay simply requires loading diluted samples into the cartridge. Once loaded, the instrument performs every step of the immunoassay automatically, from wash steps to final quantification of results in just 90 minutes. 

Whether you are starting with a multiplex assay or single analyte, today's researchers have a broad range of flexible options from which to choose. For new or novel targets, you can also have outside experts build custom multiplex panels to meet your specific research needs.   

Bio-Techne offers conjugated primary antibodies that allow you to detect analytes without using secondary antibodies.

5. The antibody—a key performance variable

The unique binding characteristics of the antibody is the central factor in determining performance within a given immunoassay. Screening antibody pairs for optimal performance is a time-intensive process that requires access to a library of antibodies and a great deal of research to confirm the antibodies under consideration can produce consistent results.

A good first step is making sure you select antibodies from a reputable supplier that has been demonstrated to be fit-for-purpose in the application and sample type of interest. Validation protocols can help ensure that antibodies are producing appropriate results.

While there is no one-size-fits-all approach to antibody validation, there are some best practice measures that can help improve your outcomes.

  • Always follow the manufacturer’s recommendations.
  • Use a relevant model system to test the antibody.
  • Employ proper controls, both for the target and for the reagent.
  • Compare your results to other similar antibodies if available.
  • If something appears amiss, contact the supplier and share your data.

Keeping pace with the speed of science

As clinical and biopharma research needs continue to escalate, immunoassay performance capabilities continue to advance. Thanks to improvements in instruments, automation, and reagent quality, today’s analyzers can deliver faster throughput, multi-mode detection, superior sensitivity, and greater ease of use. These advances represent a tremendous opportunity to continue to drive ELISA technology forward.

To learn more about immunoassays, check out these links: